Váš košík je momentálne prázdny.
Adams: Scheherazade 2
17,90 €
dodacia doba 7-28 dní
Katalógové číslo:
EAN kód:
John Adams
David Robertson, Leila Josefowicz, St. Louis Symphony
Zoznam skladieb
Adams, J: Scheherazade.2

Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra
David Robertson
Leila Josefowicz (violin)

I. Tale of the Wise Young Woman-Pursuit by the True Believers

II. A Long Desire (Love Scene)

III. Scheherazade and the Men with Beards

IV. Escape, Flight, Sanctuary
Rimsky-Korsakov gave us the violin rhapsody of Scheherazade, a suite based on the Arabian tale, and now John Adams compounds the favor with his own violin fantasy, capturing the exotic but in modern symphonic dynamism and colors. Moreover, his tale teller, holding off the murderous intentions of her husband, becomes timely symbolic of other women past and present suffering abuse and worse. Adams has often surprised us with compositions that go beyond his fine norm, and this piece stands out boldly. Symphonic in structure with four movements, it begins with fear and frenzy. Next, the mood shifts with anticipatory pulsations, cimbalom hammered dulcimer ornamentation, and sensual horns, harp, and romantic violin lyricism, but the movement includes a passage of jagged edginess, as love turns to dangerous lust, and ends with anxiety. The titles of the movements bring acute relevance to this ancient story. Thus, the third section, Scheherazade and The Men with Beards, is straight out of news stories today. Agitation and belligerence confronts the pleading violin; a menacing slow drumbeat precedes the angry rejection of brass, strings, and cimbalom. The final intense movement musically translates the title of escape leading to sancturary. It is a hurried zig-zag fleeing with pursuing woodwinds. Mid way, the refuge is spotted, with strings enveloping the violin. The composition then become quiet and cautious, as Scheherazade has made it to safety but is not yet free. Violinist Leila Josefowicz is an able storyteller in her own right, making this symphonic concerto cinematographic in imaginative detail and emotion. She is backed by the St. Louis Symphony conducted by David Robertson. I give additional mention to the cimbalom player, Chester Englander, as the instrument's timbre is important to the score's location and atmosphere. He has traveled with Josefowicz to other symphonies in performance of this work. It would be an interesting session to hear Rimsky-Korsakov's romantic 1888 suite followed by Adam's postmodern, present day version and take stock of changing times.
E-mail Heslo